Livestreaming: The Gathering from the CrossCurrents Festival

The Laboratory for Global Performance and Politics at Georgetown University in Washington, DC presents The Gathering livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Wednesday 4 May to Saturday 7 May 2022.

In May 2019, The Lab inaugurated our signature event The Gathering as part of our city-wide, international CrossCurrents Festival. Over 400 visionary artists from over 40 countries came together to share performances and ideas addressing critical global issues. We are thrilled to bring this event back to the Georgetown campus with both in-person and virtual engagements this May.

For this year’s edition of The Gathering we are thrilled to be offering FREE access to diverse programming centered around the contributions of our Global Lab Fellows including productions, readings, discussions and workshops focusing on climate change, immigration and indigeneity, with comprehensive live-streaming for all of our community. Access to full schedule of streamed performances can be found on The Lab’s website.

Wednesday 4 May

Welcome + Invocation
10 am – 11:30 am PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm EDT (Washington, DC, UTC -4)

Featuring:
Derek Goldman, Co-Director, The Laboratory for Global Performance and Politics, Georgetown University
Cynthia Schneider, Co-Director, The Laboratory for Global Performance and Politics, Georgetown University
Azar Nafisi, best-selling author (Read Dangerously, Reading Lolita in Tehran); Centennial Fellow, School of Foreign Service, Georgetown University
Shelbi Nahwilet Meissner (Payómkawichum/Kúupangaxwichem) Assistant Professor of philosophy, Georgetown University. First-generation descendant of the La Jolla Band of Luiseño Indians, specializing in Indigenous philosophy, knowledges and languages.
Ali Mahdi Nouri, UNESCO Ambassador & Secretary General ITI, International Theater Institute & Albuggaa Theater Company
Manuel Viveros, Actor, Director; Inaugural Lab Fellow, musician with Chonta’s Sound
& Others

Friday 6 May

Performing Dangerously: 10th Anniversary Celebration
4:30 pm – 6:00 pm PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 7:30 pm – 9:00 pm EDT (Washington, DC, UTC -4)

Join us to celebrate the resilience of art, artists, and our global community as we gather our forces of creativity and compassion to respond to the call of the next 10 years. Featuring excerpts of work by Lab collaborators:

Heather Raffo – Playwright, Actor, Lab Think Tank member. Sharing from Migration Play.
Melísande Short-Colomb, Writer and performer, Community Engagement Associate, Laboratory for Global Performance and Politics, GU272 Descendent. Sharing from “Here I Am”
Belarus Free Theater, sharing TBA
Ukrainian Diaries
& Others

Resonant Bodies: Dance Party
6:30 pm – 7:30 pm PDT (San Francisco, UTC -4) / 9:30pm – 10:30pm EDT (Washington, DC, UTC -4)

Attempts to connect evolve into a dance party for diplomacy. Resonant Bodies is an outlet for all that cannot be expressed in words while we celebrate reunions, resilience, and all that is yet to come. Part of an ongoing research project in embodied listening, Resonant Bodies continues the Lab’s tradition of Witnessing Across Difference, In Your Shoes, and performing One Another, to connect beneath and beyond words. Framing the ongoing work of theater and dance practitioners worldwide as an intentional tool for working across cultures, this project aspires to build empathy and trust through joyous action-replacement analysis with kinesthetic response and sublimating rage in dance. This is a participatory performance celebrating the body as a culture-bearer and its movement as a tool for connection with the otherwise “other.”

Saturday 7 May

Our One Earth: Artists Engaging Climate
11:00 am – 12 pm PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm EDT (Washington, DC, UTC -4)

Artists and names engaging with the climate crisis and our relationships to the land, visioning ways of care share excerpts of their work, methodologies, and visions for the future.

The Walk: Artists Engaging Migration and the Refugee Experience
12:30 pm PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 3:30 pm – 5:00 pm EDT (Washington, DC, UTC -4)

Artists engaging with migration and how we move together across boundaries and borders, share excerpts of their work, methodologies, and visions for the future.

Closing Rituals
2:00 pm – 2:30 pm PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 5:00 pm – 5:30 pm EDT (Washington, DC, UTC -4)

Come together to celebrate all that we have built in community with one another and look to the future together.

Leave a Comment