2022 TCG National Conference: Pittsburgh

Theater Communications Group (TCG) presented the 2022 TCG National Conference: Pittsburgh livestreaming on the commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV network from Thursday 16 June to Saturday 18 June 2022.

From 15-18 June 2022, as we enter our seventh decade of serving the theater field, TCG joins with theatermakers in Pittsburgh ⁠—a city that TCG also claims as its first home ⁠—to host our first hybrid National Conference, embracing the duality of both in-person and virtual programming. Whether you join us on the ground or online, you’ll be part of a single conference community on distinct but converging paths of content: the virtual experience from 15-16 June and the in-person experience from 16-18 June in Pittsburgh.

Thursday 16 June

Making Home: Contemporary and Devised Performance in Pittsburgh
2 pm-3:15 pm PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 4 pm-5:15 pm CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 5 pm-6:15 pm EDT (Pittsburgh, UTC -4)
This session artists gathers Pittsburgh-based theater Lyam B. Gabel and Adil Mansoor for a conversation about the intersections of their work, the infrastructures of performance-making in Pittsburgh, and how their work radically creates space for diverse expressions of self. Moderated by Chanel Blanchettprogramming manager at Kelly Strayhorn Theaterthe discussion will introduce attendees to the work of these artists and illuminate the processes and strategies for local and regional performance artists to make work both in the Steel City and on the road.

Friday 17 June

THIS IS NOT A DRILL: Climate Just Futures
6:30 am-7:30 am PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 8:30 am-9:30 am CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 9:30 am-10:30 am EDT (Pittsburgh, UTC -4)

Groundwater Arts co-founders Annalisa Dias and Tara Moses and No Dream Deferred NOLA‘s founding artistic director Lauren Turner will lead a discussion to connect the dots between the climate crisis and movements for racial justice.

Together We Rise: Dream Session for a Queer American Theater
7:45 am PDT-9:15 am PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 9:45 am-11:15 am CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 10:45 am-12:15 pm EDT (Pittsburgh , UTC – 4)

What can we do to build stronger representation of queer stories on our stages? Galvanized by the momentum of a working group and community event initiated between Rattlestick Theater, National Queer Theaterand the Dramatists Guild, this conference session will explore the dramaturgy of queer performance, identify the barriers between queer stories and commercial stages, and engage with audience members to formulate an action plan together. Panelists will include Ali Hoefnagel, Basil Kreimendahl, Roger Q. Mason, Joey Reyesand Gaven Trinidad. Moderated by the Director of Outreach & Institutional Partnerships for the Dramatists Guild, Jordan Stovall.

Special Session: The Meaning of Juneteenth and August Wilson’s 100-Year Journey to Freedom
11 am-12:30 pm PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 1 pm-2:30 pm CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 2 pm-3:30 pm EDT (Pittsburgh, UTC -4)
With Juneteenth days away during the first year in which it’s been recognized as a national holiday, this panel of educators and theater artists—including some from the cast and creative team of Pittsburgh Public Theater‘s current show Two Trains Running—will explore the significance of Juneteenth as a holiday and how August Wilson‘s Century Cycle reveals the long, complex struggle of Black people to gain freedom in America. Panelists will also offer their experiences and perspectives on the function of theater in liberation movements and open up to the room for questions and ideas.

Saturday 18 June

American Theater Offscript Podcast Live
8:30 am-9:45 am PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 10:30 am-11:45 am CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 11:30 am-12:45 pm EDT (Pittsburgh, UTC -4)
Join the audience for a live edition of American Theater’s Offscript podcast, where the editors will talk to a longtime local arts journalist Sharon Eberson about the Pittsburgh theater scene and be joined by two of its distinguished leaders: Monteze Freelandco-artistic director of City Theater, and Karla Boosartistic director of Quantum Theater.

Leave a Comment